Snapchat may be the best photo-sharing application in the world, but it’s also the most complicated one. While regular Snapchat users may not find the app complicated to use, for a new user, it’s somewhat difficult to find all features.
When you first install Snapchat on your Android or iOS, the app doesn’t guide you on how to use it. Yes, Snapchat has a forum where you get to know about all its features and how to use it.
If you have recently joined Snapchat and just started using it, you may see an ‘X’ icon beside the contact name in the Chat list. Have you ever wondered what does X mean on Snapchat?
Recently, many Snapchat users have messaged us asking about what does the X mean on Snapchat? So, if you cannot figure out what the ‘X’ does in Snapchat, you will get all the much-needed information in this article.
What Does the X Mean on Snapchat?
The meaning of X on Snapchat may vary. This is because you may see an ‘X’ mark on different sections of the Snapchat application.
You may see the grey ‘X’ icon next to someone on the chat page, on the friend list, etc. So, depending on where the ‘X’ icon appears, its meaning may change.
For example, if the X appears next to someone on Snapchat’s Chat page, the person is not yet on your friend list.
Similarly, if the X icon appears beside a game or mini, tapping on it will remove it. You may even see a grey X icon beside the conversation to clear them.
What does Grey X next to Snapchat Name Mean?
If the X icon appears beside a Snapchat name, the person is not added to your friend list. Generally, granting Snapchat permission to access your contacts will show all contacts who have joined Snapchat.
It’s possible for a contact to show up on Snapchat even though they haven’t been added to your Snapchat friend list. So, a contact may not be your Snapchat friend but can appear on the application because it is in your contact book.
On the chat panel of Snapchat, you may see people who have been added through your contact book but are not actually added to your friend list. You will see a grey X beside their name on the Chat page, and clicking on the X icon will allow you to block or report the contact.
You can add those people to remove the appearance of ‘X’ next to a Snapchat name. If you don’t want to add those people to your friend list, you can block them.
What Does X On Snapchat’s Friend List Mean?
If X appears beside the contact name on the ‘Add Friends’ screen, it means you haven’t yet added the contact. Tapping on the X button will remove the contact suggestion from Snapchat.
However, besides the ‘X’, you will also notice an ‘Add‘ button. Tapping on the Add button will immediately send the person a friend request.
What Does the X Mean on Snapchat instead of the camera icon?
Well, if the ‘X’ appears beside someone you’ve previously been friends with, it means that the person has recently removed or blocked you.
You can open the profile and check whether you are getting an option to Add the person to the friend list. If the ‘Add‘ button is available, the contact has removed you from their Snapchat account.
Generally, when someone removes you from their friend list, the camera icon is replaced with an ‘X’ icon. Tapping on the X icon will allow you to clear the previous chat with the person, block, or report.
How to Remove Grey X Next to Name on Snapchat?
Well, the best and easiest way to get rid of the grey X on Snapchat is by adding that person to your friend list. If the person declines, you can block them.
If the person accepts your friend request, the ‘X’ icon will immediately change to Camera. However, if you see the ‘X’ icon next to the name on Snapchat, but they are already added to your friend list, you need to clear the App cache.
So, this guide is all about what does the X mean on Snapchat. We have also answered your most-asked question: Does X on Snapchat mean blocked? If you need more help on this topic, let us know in the comments below. Also, if the article helped you, make sure to share it with your friends as well.