How To Remove All Of Your Personal Data From Computer
How To Remove All Of Your Personal Data From Computer
[dropcap]B[/dropcap]efore buying a new computer, we choose to donate, recycle or sell the old one. However, before lending your computer to any other hand, we need to take care of a few things like our personal data, apps, etc. So, it’s always a good time to know how to factory reset any old computer. Here’s how you can remove all of your data from the computer.

How To Remove All Of Your Personal Data From Computer

Well, if we look around, we will find that almost every other day someone purchases a new computer. Before buying a new computer, we choose to donate, recycle or sell the old one. However, before lending your computer to any other hand, we need to take care of a few things like our personal data, apps, etc.

We are in so hurry to purchase a new computer that we forgot to clean the old one properly. These things can create lots of privacy and security hazards. Just think once what if the computer that you have just sold to someone has your banking details like login credentials, passwords, etc?

So, it’s always a good time to know how to factory reset any old computer. It doesn’t matter if you are using Windows, Linux, or MacOS, the Factory reset option is available on every OS with different names. So, in this article, we are about to discuss how to remove all of your data from the computer.

What are the benefits?

Well, its worth to note that to wipe a hard drive means to erase each and every piece of information that’s stored on the drive. Factory reset or the restore option on the various operating system doesn’t wipe a hard drive. It just removes the apps and personal data that you have stored after the OS installation.

So, it will remove all those apps, saved passwords, text files, and almost everything that you see on your desktop. Whereas formatting the computer removes everything including the old OS. Formatting needs a fresh installation of the OS, whereas the system reset doesn’t.

Moreover, the Resetting, restoring, or Factory reset can also help to eliminate issues with computer software, drivers, corrupted files, malware infections, etc. So, let’s know how to wipe all data from the computer.

How To Wipe Your Hard Drive Before Selling Your Computer

#1 Windows

Well, removing personal data from Windows computer is an easy process. But, you need to consider a few things before you begin the factory reset process. If you are doing the complete system reset to fix different computer issues, then you need to create a proper backup. Since the process removes all files and folders, it’s essential to back up all files on other computer or external hard drive.

Windows
Windows

For Windows 10, Open the Start Menu and then search for ‘Update & Security’. Under the Update & Security Menu, click on the Recovery option. Now under the Recovery menu, you need to click on ‘Reset this PC’. On the next window, you need to choose Get Start and follow the on-screen instructions to revert your computer back to the previous state.

#2 Apple

Just like Windows Users, Apple users also need to create a proper backup before performing the factory reset. Apple users can back up their important files to an external drive or on the cloud storage. However, make sure to disable the iCloud features after backing up the files and folders.

Apple
Apple

Now you need to restart your computer and during the startup, press the Shift + Option + Command + R keys until the Apple logo appears. The key combination will force your computer to reinstall the operating system and revert your computer back to when it was first unboxed.

Now you will get to see a popup window where you need to open the Disk Utility. Now on the Disk Utility, find and erase your built-in hard disk. Now select the MacOS Extended (Journaled) format. Now, wait until the Disk Utility finishes the reset process. Once done, quick the Disk Utility.

#3 Chromebook User

Well, Chromebook users don’t need to do much before wiping their computer. Since most of the files are already stored online on Google Drive. So, there’s no need to back up. However, if you think that you have some file that you need to back up, then do it before you factory reset your laptop or computer.

Chromebook
Chromebook

Chromebook users need to click on the photo shown on the account. Now open the Settings and scroll down to the ‘Advanced’ section. Now, under the Advanced Section, find Powerwash and click on the icon. Now your computer will restart and will remove all your personal data.

So, this is how you can wipe all data from the computer. Since Apple, Windows, and Chromebook is the most used operating system, we have listed the factory reset process of the three. If you have any other doubts, then make sure to discuss with us in the comments.



LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here